

MINUTES Annual General Meeting 7.30 pm Tuesday 18 October 2016 Majura Function Room Majura Community Centre 2 Rosevear Place Dickson

Accepted 15 November 2016

The North Canberra Community Council is funded by the ACT Government.

Links: Live-streamed video of meetings: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1gnJVlu5IWe6ZLT1hiSNsA/live Minutes of earlier meetings: http://www.northcanberra.org.au/minutes-of-public-meetings/

GUEST PRESENTATION

1 Canberra's waterways: Dr Jacki Schirmer.

The video of Dr Shchirmer's presentation is available at <u>https://youtu.be/da-zcdlP1g4</u>

STANDING ITEMS

2 Attendance and Apologies

<u>Attendance</u>: Greg Zwajgenberg (Acting Chair), Leon Arundell (Secretary), Bruce Smith (Treasurer), Committee members Marianne Albury-Colless, Marcus Hipkins, Geoff Davidson, Denis O'Brien. Members Mike Hettinger, Jason Mann, Pam Graudenz, Rob Wilson, Neil Parsons, Jo Sladic, Cecilia Skene, Jane Goffman, John Lieber.

Apologies: Chris Emery.

3 Confirm minutes of previous General Meeting 16 August

Agreed. (Moved Denis, Seconded Marianne)

4 Declaration of potential Committee conflicts of interest

See Attachment 1 below.

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING BUSINESS

5 Confirm minutes of Annual General Meeting 20 Oct 2015

Agreed. (Moved Jane Seconded Bruce)

6 Committee report on activities during the preceding financial year

Leon gave a brief report.

There was a discussion of the ability of the NCCC to provide financial support to residents' Associations.

7 audited statement of accounts and the auditor's report

Bruce provided a financial report and the audited financial statement.

The audited statement and the auditor's report were accepted. (Moved Bruce, Seconded Denis).

8 Elect Chair, Deputy Chair, Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer and up to five ordinary Committee Members

As no nominations were received prior to the meeting, the Chair called for nominations from those present at the meeting. The following nominations were received:

Chair: Denis O'Brien

Deputy Chair: Mike Hettinger

<u>Secretary</u>: Leon Arundell

Treasurer: John Lieber

<u>Committee members</u>: Marcus Hipkins, Greg Zwajgenberg, Jhay Mann, Marianne Albury Colless, Geoff Davidson

As there was only one nominee for each position, <u>all of the nominees were duly</u> <u>elected</u>.

GENERAL BUSINESS

9 Proposed changes to the NCCC Constitution:

1. Procedures for out-of-session decisions

<u>Amend</u> to require at least 4 in agreement, drop part c, and require a majority of responses to be in agreement.

<u>Agreed as amended</u>: Moved Marcus, Seconded Geoff.

2. Reduced period for sending out agendas for General Meetings

Agreed. Moved Geoff, Seconded Bruce

3. Change of Financial Year

Agreed. Moved Geoff, Seconded Marianne

4. Update references to reflect legislation changes

Agreed. Moved Bruce Seconded Jane

5. Remove the requirement that the Public Officer be a Committee member

Agreed. Moved John Lieber, Seconded Bruce

6. Allow local businesses to become members

<u>NOT agreed</u>.

7. Allow Committee to co-opt additional members

Amend to change "Board" to "Committee"

Agreed as amended. Moved Greg; Seconded Geoff

8. Lower minimum membership age to 16

<u>Agreed</u>. Moved Marianne, Seconded Jane

REPORTS

10 Committee decisions since the previous General Meeting

<u>Addendum</u>: since the August General Meeting, the Committee has made the following decisions:

- The next meeting with residents' associations is to be held in November
- Accept membership applications from Kavitha Burge, Janelee I-Chen Li, Andrea Wang, Alan and Irene Barber, and Geoffrey McDougall.
- Election Forum 20 September: Print and distribute 25,000 fliers; cover the cost of refreshments.
- Circulate a report on Icon Water pricing consultation, and use it as a basis for a position paper.

11 Combined Community Councils

Next meeting to be hosted by NCCC on 29 October.

12 Capital Metro Community Reference Groups – Civic and Dickson.

No report

13 <u>Environment and Planning Forum</u>

Next meetings 27 October and 8 December.

14 Community Aviation Consultative Group

No report.

15 Residents' Associations

Dickson Residents' Association: Coles-DOMA: Statement of Facts & Contentions & Statement of Evidence havs been submitted.

<u>Motion of thanks</u> to Jane Goffman for her work on the appeal <u>Carried by acclamation</u>. Moved Marianne, Seconded Leon.

<u>Motion</u>: That Leon & Marianne request information on rezoning of CFZ land, either by subpoena or by FOI request. <u>Agreed</u>. Moved: Leon Seconded Geoff.

16 Dickson Section 72, "Parklands"

No report.

ANY OTHER BUSINESS

17 Report from Dickson Village Traders

No report.

18 Waste Feasibility Study

What <u>Outcomes</u> does the community want from the waste management system?

19 Canberra Casino Entertainment Precinct proposal

What are the implications (e.g. for Glebe Park) of <u>Canberra Casino's</u> <u>Entertainment Precinct proposal</u>, and what opportunities will there be for community input?

20 Motion: that we agree that the records of the NCCC be placed in the archives of the ACT Heritage Library. Agreed: Moved Bruce, Seconded Leon

21 CLOSE OF MEETING 10.07 pm

ATTACHMENT 1

Declarations of potential Committee conflicts of Interest

<u>Mike Hettinger</u>: O'Connor Community Inc.; voting member of the Labor Club <u>Greg Zwajgenberg</u>: Brindabella Christian College.

Leon Arundell: Living Streets Canberra, Climate Action Canberra, Conservation Council

<u>Marcus Hipkins</u>: lives on Chisholm St, which may be affected by traffic issues. <u>Geoff Davidson</u>: member of the Environmental Defender's Office.

Denis O'Brien. ALP member.